Official Government Website

Our Kids, Idaho’s Future

Governor Brad Little assembled the “Our Kids, Idaho’s Future” Task Force in May of 2019 to formulate a five-year blueprint for improvement of and investment in Idaho’s K-12 public education system.

The task force members include teachers, school administrators, education stakeholders, business leaders, and a bipartisan group of legislators from every corner of the state.

Governor Little directed the group to establish the K-12 public education priorities for the next five years. It will review the K-12 budget to align investments with the priorities, with the overall goals of improving student achievement, identifying a framework to successfully measure student success, recruit and retain teachers, and others.

Governor Little’s “Our Kids, Idaho’s Future” Task Force members include:

Teachers, School Administrators, and Education Stakeholders

  • Debbie Critchfield, President, Idaho State Board of Education— Co-Chair
  • Sherri Ybarra, Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Marc Beitia, American Falls High School teacher and 2019 Idaho Teacher of the Year
  • Kari Overall, President, Idaho Education Association
  • Jody Hendrickx, Trustee, St. Maries School District and Idaho School Boards Association (ISBA) Vice President
  • Jennifer Parkins, Trustee, Genessee Joint School District and ISBA President
  • Erin McCandless, Idaho State Parent Teacher Association President
  • Mary Ann Ranells, Superintendent, West Ada School District
  • Luke Schroeder, Superintendent, Twin Falls School District
  • Cheryl Charlton, Superintendent, Idaho Digital Learning Academy
  • Pete Koehler, retired Chief Deputy Superintendent and former Nampa High School Principal and Superintendent

Business Leaders

  • Bill Gilbert, Co-Founder and Managing Director, Caprock, Boise — Co-Chair
  • Terry Ryan, CEO, BLUUM, Boise
  • Kurt Liebich, CEO, Redbuilt, Boise
  • Matt Van Vleet, Vice President, Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories, Lewiston
  • Katherine Hart, Associate General Counsel, Melaleuca, Idaho Falls
  • Shawn Keough, Executive Director, Associated Logging Contractors, Coeur d’Alene


  • Senator Chuck Winder, Majority Leader, Idaho Senate
  • Senator Dean Mortimer, Idaho Senate Education Committee
  • Senator Janie Ward-Engelking, Idaho Senate Education Committee
  • Representative Mat Erpelding, Minority Leader, Idaho House of Representatives
  • Representative Jason Monks, Assistant Majority Leader, Idaho House of Representatives
  • Representative Lance Clow, Idaho House Education Committee
  • Representative Gary Marshall, Idaho House Education Committee
  • Representative Wendy Horman, Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee
ver: 3.2.55 | last updated: