Governor announces recipients of the 2019 Idaho Awards for Leadership in Energy Efficiency

Wednesday June 12, 2019

Boise, Idaho – Governor Brad Little announced the recipients of the 2019 Idaho Awards for Leadership in Energy Efficiency. The awards acknowledge Idaho companies that exhibit leadership in their communities by implementing energy efficiency measures at their local facilities and buildings.

“Improving energy efficiency and reducing energy consumption are the foundation of a secure future for Idaho and our country,” Governor Little said. “I applaud the Idaho businesses and organizations receiving these awards for their leadership in demonstrating smart, cost-effective and responsible energy practices.”

The recipients of the awards are separated into two categories – buildings and industry – to acknowledge their achievements based on the type of facilities used and the business they operate.

The recipients under the buildings category are:

  • Brigham Young University Idaho in Rexburg, Idaho
  • College of Western Idaho in Nampa, Idaho

The recipients under the industry category are:

  • Agropur, Inc. – Jerome Cheese in Jerome, Idaho
  • Lamb Weston’s Twin Falls Plant in Twin Falls, Idaho
  • J.R. Simplot’s Don Plant in Pocatello, Idaho

Governor Little also announced a recipient for the Governor’s Award for Excellence in Energy Efficiency. The award honors a single facility or organization that demonstrates a commitment to energy efficiency through its efforts to significantly reduce its energy consumption.

The recipient of the Governor’s Award is:

  • Clearwater Paper in Lewiston, Idaho

Additional information about the awards is available at

Questions about the award or the recipients can be directed to John Chatburn, Administrator of the Governor’s Office of Energy and Mineral Resources, by calling 208-332-1660 or e-mailing

# # #


John Chatburn, Governor’s Office of Energy and Mineral Resources

208-332-1660 or