Governor renews Idaho Medal of Achievement executive order, calls for nominations by August 5

Wednesday May 1, 2019

NOTE: Deadline was extended to October 31, 2019

Boise, Idaho – Governor Brad Little issued Executive Order 2019-04 today, renewing the Idaho Medal of Achievement, Idaho’s highest civilian honor.

Governor Little also called on Idahoans to submit nominations for recipients of the Idaho Medal of Achievement by August 5, 2019.

“The Idaho Medal of Achievement recognizes the most noteworthy citizens among us who have accomplished remarkable feats and demonstrated notable service to the people of our state,” Governor Little said.

Past recipients of the Idaho Medal of Achievement include Governor Phil Batt, human rights advocate Marilyn Shuler, and astronaut and teacher Barbara Morgan.

All medal nominees must be current or deceased Idaho residents who have acted in ways through their lifetime to bring great honor to Idaho. More than one medal may be awarded at one time.

The Idaho Medal of Achievement is made from 99.9-percent fine silver donated by the Hecla Mining Company located in Coeur d’Alene.

The Idaho Medal of Achievement Commission is chaired by former Idaho Supreme Court Justice Linda Trout and includes six other members: Lt. Governor Janice McGeachin, Barbara Morgan, Skip Oppenheimer, Kirk Sullivan, Sarah Bedke, and Todd Brinkmeyer. The commission evaluates nominees and submits no more than five names to the Governor for consideration. The Governor decides the final recipients.

“The Idaho Medal of Achievement presents the opportunity for all of us as Idahoans to honor those citizens who have made significant contributions to our state,” Justice Trout said. “The commission members look forward to seeing the nominations that come through and making recommendations to Governor Little on potential recipients of this distinguished award.”

Nominations can be mailed to the Governor’s Office or submitted through the Governor’s web site at by August 5.

# # #

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT: Marissa Morrison, Press Secretary

208-943-1686 or